DIY: The Coffee Log

I came across this amazing side table in a WestElm magazine. It was tucked in the corner of a beautiful room and I thought, I could totally do that! But didn’t. Later on I saw it in a different home decor magazine, then on a few trendy blogs. So, I thought I would try it out. Here’s what I did.

First, the hard part. I had to wait 27 years for a wonderful man who loved Jesus to woo me and ask me to marry him (which, I did). (Check out my new series coming in October, 31 Thoughts on Singleness). This wonderful man also knew how to use a chainsaw, which comes in handy for DIY projects like this!

Next, I walked out to the shed, picked out a few logs which had been sitting in line to be chopped for our wood stove this winter.
I carried them to the porch.
I compared the logs and picked out the straightest one.
I cleaned it, then let it sit out a few days to make sure there were no bugs in it. (There were no bugs in it)
While it sat on the porch, I took a drive to Lowe’s and bought a set of wheels.

Using a hand held screwdriver, I attached the wheels.
I turned it over and… This is where I sit my coffee when I am on my computer.
Easy!

Tip Junkie handmade projects

2 thoughts on “DIY: The Coffee Log

  1. Pingback: Easy DIY Coffee Log

    • Wow, thanks for the feedback. I love the coffee log in our living room. It is the perfect spot for my coffee mug… and it only set our family back $2.67 for a set of wheels. If I had to do it over, I would have used all 4 wheels instead of 3.
      Amy

Leave a Reply

