Tip #4: Surround your home with God’s Word

 

Our mantle today. Phil 4:8

 

“Hear, O Israel: The LORD our God, the LORD is one. 5You shall love the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your might. 6And these words that I command you today shall be on your heart. 7 You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, and when you walk by the way, and when you lie down, and when you rise. 8 You shall bind them as a sign on your hand, and they shall be as frontlets between your eyes. 9 You shall write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates.” – Deuteronomy 6: 4-9

God did not want his chosen people to forget his commands. He commanded them to keep his commands in the forefront of their brains. He wanted them to keep his words in their view at all times. Why? So, they will not forget! Many times through out my day I need to be reminded of God! My husband and I are sensitive to making Christ the center of our home everyday of the week, not just on Sundays. When I am working on a task or playing with my girls, I must keep things around that remind me to incorporate God into conversation, thoughts and actions. There are tons of ways to do this.

Here are a few tips from me:
1. Use scripture that currently motivates you! I am not talking about hanging a sign in your living room that says, “As for me and my house we will serve the Lord.” I am talking about passages of scripture that challenge your daily interactions with your family. “Whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is Just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely… think about these things” Phil 4:8. While the first verse is a declaration, the later is a practical example of how your house will serve the Lord.
2. Put it in your point of view! My mother-in-law tapes verses at the Kitchen sink and the bathroom. Friends of mine will write their weekly scripture on their mirror with a dry-erase marker.
3. Be creative. You can write out a challenging verse and frame it. If you don’t like your handwriting, download a new font and print out a verse to frame. It can be hard to find hip and trendy home décor with specific scripture that currently challenges you and your family. So, be bold with the gospel in your home! Let it serve as a reminder of who God is and who we are in Christ. These are a few pics of scripture around my house.

Scripture around Alani's door in her room. Passages from Proverbs.

 

4 thoughts on “Tip #4: Surround your home with God’s Word

  1. Amy, I love what you’re doing here, this is so my heart as well! I too just started a new blog and hope you can check it out when you get a moment. Keep going strong with this, it is very encouraging. Love you!

    .heather.

  2. Hey Amy! This is a tip that has inspired me for my new home overseas. It is definitely going to need some decor! Love you!

  3. We painted a chalk board (with the chalk board paint) in the dining/kitchen/living area and we write scriptures up there! It is great to have that reminder on the walls of the house when you are upset with the kids!

Leave a Reply

