My name for 2011

I have never thought about the dark as an adventure.
Rather, separation, stillness, abandonment and depression.

I have never asked God to let me experience the dark.
Rather, begged him to bring light to my closed eyes out of self-pity and fear.

It has never occurred to me, until recently, that God created both light and DARKNESS. Day and NIGHT. And as he leads me, he chooses to lead me through the darkness or through the day.

When I look forward to this year, it is pitch black. I can see nothing. I am reminded of a verse my husband shared with me in the early part of this year:

Isaiah 50:11
Let the one who walks in the dark, who has no light,
trust in the name of the LORD and rely on their God.

I do not know what this year holds. I cannot see into the future.
I will not try to make a way for my family or myself on my own. I will not spend all year trying to find a light or a reason for why it is dark in the first place.

I will let go and follow.
I will close my complaining mouth, and follow.
I will stop straining my eyes to see and enjoy the adventure of following.
I will rely on my God; his provision, his direction, his timing and his faithfulness.
Not mine.

My word for 2011 is Following.

2 thoughts on “My name for 2011

  1. I hadn’t given “darkness” much thought until I started studying Genesis. I wrote this for my website, notbychance.net: Since, in the beginning God was all there was, and God is light, there was no darkness until God created it. He tells us so in Isaiah 45:7, “I form light and create darkness.” Since God is light, it was not a problem for Him to create light without a light source, such as the Sun and stars (which He had not yet created!).

  2. I want to let you know first, that I found you from Ann’s

    Your words “Following” it has a much deeper meaning than I know. It’s my first time here and I don’t know the story. But I feel the story a little. And it seems following is the right word for you.

    I have prayed for your “following” that the darkness yield light and hope to stay near.

    My word is “connection” and I’m glad I connected today with your word and words.

    God Bless and Keep you and yours.

Leave a Reply

