Tip #20: 7am – Creating the Habit


I wake to the crowing of a rooster and other collected nature sounds.
I can feel my blood pressure rising as the volume gets louder and louder.
My husband’s seemingly tranquil phone alarm puts me in a panic most mornings. I poke him to shut it off. Facedown in his pillow, he quickly stretches out his arm into the cold morning to find the itsy bitsy button that will hush the ragin’ rooster from it’s angry cry.
I assume it is 6:30am… I drift back to sleep.

My ears awaken to the sound of clanging coming from the living room. I can hear the sizzle of the logs being rolled around and the creaking of the iron door shutting. I sigh. I begin a short inward dialog to motivate myself to roll over, sit up, put my feet on the floor…
The sound of his voice interrupts my groggy self-talk.
“It’s 10 til 7am. Do you still want to get up?”
“Yea,” I sigh, slowly roll over, kick my legs out from under the covers, reach for my glasses and super slowly begin the process of getting out of my bed. At 6 months pregnant, it does take some maneuvering to safely “stumble out of bed” and walk into the living room without waking up my girls.

For most of the world, it is the top of the morning. At the Davis house, it is time to get the wood-burning stove stoked up, drink coffee, pray, read, study and focus before it’s time to pack for work, prep sippy-cups, bring in wood for the fire and plan the day.

Some say it takes 7 days to create a habit and 21 days to break one. So, I will try to break the habit of sleeping until my girls wake up while I pursue my 7am wake up call. I am eager to walk with God and to grow in Him. I do not want to lazily approach my day and let the opportunity to commune with Him pass away. I want to walk with Him and grow in him, finding joy in him and share it with my family.

2 thoughts on “Tip #20: 7am – Creating the Habit

  1. Amy, I have so enjoyed your blog. I see a lot of myself in the things you talk about. I have a lot of improving to do, but I am encouraged by your openness and your willingness to share what the Lord is teaching you and how you persist to fight your flesh so that you can serve Him more. I remember the summer of ’05 when you confronted me about not being happy at camp; I was slightly annoyed that you would question my motives, but you were right to do so. I was in sin and I didn’t want anyone to find out, so I wanted to run – and I did try (like an idiot).
    You are such a light and I am thankful for leaders like you who are servants first. I look forward to your posts and I am challenged by the words you share. As a wife and soon to be mother, I hope that I am able to follow in your example, which is Christ.
    I just wanted to let you know that you are a blessing, not only to me, but to the others who read your posts as well. Thank you for what you’re doing!

Leave a Reply

