With All Creation…

Romans 8:22-25 For we know that the whole creation has been groaning together in the pains of childbirth until now.
And not only the creation, but we ourselves, who have the first fruits of the Spirit, groan inwardly as we wait eagerly for adoption as sons, the redemption of our bodies. For in this hope we were saved. Now hope that is seen is not hope. For who hopes for what he sees? But if we hope for what we do not see, we wait for it with patience.

This pain and discomfort of this pregnancy is not suffering. It is a bearing. A stirring. A call to AWAKE! This thought encourages me right now… creation groans together in the pains of childbirth, waiting on the coming of Christ. God is using this season of physical stretching to remind me of the return of Christ. While heartburn, exhaustion, soreness and swelling remind me that this baby is coming; it can also serve to remind me of Jesus return!

Still, I battle to stay focused on Jesus coming. My attention is always drawn inward, where the movement repeats. I know each kick is a miracle, life growing inside life. Almost every minute of the day I have opportunity to respond to each painful pulse and twisting with JOY. But, the moments stack up back to back. I put the hunt for JOY on hold to count complaints instead…

#345 Ouch, my major organs are smashed up against the walls of my abdomen
#346 It is hard to breathe
#347 It hurts to bend and pick that up
#348 My bones painfully move, knock, ache
#349 I’m hungry again
#350 Shoes are too hard to put on

Through Christ, I am capable of having a mind fixed on Christ, even in the physical and emotional stress of pregnancy! Paul says, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. In 2 Corinthians he also says, “’My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’” Grace has been extended to me and Christ is returning! Therein lies the JOY, comfort, freedom, peace… So, I must tell myself, “STOP counting complaints and get back to the hunt!”

I yield my mind and body to Christ, allowing HIM to fix my eyes on the blessing coming in 39 days and the hope of my future with him, one day. I want every ache and pain, alarm and surprise to remind me of Jesus and the hope, strength and joy I have in him, alone!

One thought on “With All Creation…

  1. wow! first congratulations on the soon-coming baby. second, thankyou for the reminder of where our focus should be in everything we face. I am not pregnant but I can relate to aches and pains and sicknesses!
    Once again thank you and God bless you and the precious little one you carry.

Leave a Reply

