Joy In The Simple






“Where’s my bug catcher?” she yells from the top bunk early in the morning, concerned with the last thing she thought about before she fell asleep. Again, through the hallway her voice breaks the quiet, “where’s my bug catcher?” I quickly grab the bug catcher from the kitchen table and return it to their room before her yelling wakes little sister.
“Here it is baby, go back to sleep. It’s not time to wake up.”
“Put it right there, mama, ok? And I can look at it when I wake up, ok?”
“OK” I said as I placed the bug catcher, full of lightening bugs on the second floor of the Loving family dollhouse. She bounces back on her pillow and I smile to myself as I walk back down the hall.

I want to experience joy in the simple like she does. I want to embrace and recognize small wonders like lightening bugs and kiddie swimming pools.

Much of my day is spent in a whirlwind, right now. The dishes pile up, clean laundry becomes dirty, toddlers pee in the bed, toys clutter the walkways of our home and someone always needs a sippy-cup refill at the most hectic time. It is all so overwhelming. It is easy to become task oriented instead of simply living. I want to experience the wonders of Christ in every aspect of my day, not just the spiritual things.

Psalm 116:5-7 Gracious is the LORD, and righteous; our God is merciful.

The LORD preserves the simple; when I was brought low, he saved me.
 Return, O my soul, to your rest; for the LORD has dealt bountifully with you.

There is joy in the simple. I can find rest in God. Life, all of life, is full of wonder if I bow low and allow my eyes to be opened.

One thought on “Joy In The Simple

  1. ok funny – we do this every night – I NEVER let them bring them in:) It goes against policy. (I’m so strict) 🙂

Leave a Reply

