New Series: Refocus Your Bible Study

The alarm sounds. I thrust my arm into the cold and slam the old college clock silent in one motion. Squinting my eyes I try to focus on the orange numbers to make out the time. While warming my arm, now back in my sleeping bag, I slowly talk myself through the routine. “Sit up. Grab glasses. Put feet on floor. Turn off fan. Reach for sweatshirt… where are my shoes? Oh yeah by the door. Ok, just start…” And before I know it, I am dressed, packed for the day and on my way down to the Metal Building for some hot coffee and some time in the Word.

That was 2003, 2004…

Bunny and "Ewwni-torn" the Pillow Pets

This morning I was bonked awake with pillow pets, baby breath, and a list of morning demands.
“Tan I have apple juice please mama, Tan I watch moobie, please mama?” she climbs in bed with me. Her white, blonde hair blocks all the numbers on the clock. I have no idea what time it is.

The older one thumps down the hall repeating, “Knoxy woke me up.” She enters my room and the little man begins to cry for his morning bottle from his room.
My phone alarm sounds. I snatch it up to stop the beep. I pause, and then laugh to myself, “I’m up, I’m up!”
I look at my girls and hop out of bed. Time to make a bottle and sippy cups.
Maybe I can grab some coffee on the fly.
Thank the Lord for automatic coffee pots.

Bunny and Bear

Today, I did not rise early in the morning and settle into an hour of Bible study with coffee in hand. It is nice when those days happen, but mothering 3 kids 3 and under is, well, pretty much what it sounds like – unpredictable. The reality is, I have to be creative and strategic to study my Bible and learn how to spend time with God all day. Jesus and his word is all that gives me strength to lead these children well.
I NEED Jesus to soak into me daily…
But, when?
How?

In the next few posts I am going to give some suggestions on how to stay in the word while learning how to be a new mama. I hope these stories and ideas will be encouraging and inspiring for your time alone with God.

It starts Monday!

3 thoughts on “New Series: Refocus Your Bible Study

  1. Great, attention-grabbing intro to your new series. I look forward to it. Hmmm….anyone following you who is not familiar with SWO, might wonder where on Earth you were in that first paragraph!!

  2. So excited about this series! This has been one of the hardest things for me, since having a kid. I long for that sweet time in the Word again.

  3. Yes, you are right Mrs. Vicki. Hey all… that first paragraph was me working at SWO and living in the staff cabins at Snowbird Wilderness Outfitters (a Christian wilderness camp)! It was easier for me to spend an hour in the word in the middle of summer camp, than living at home with 3 babies. That is the comparison:)

Leave a Reply

