Filling Cups

The beginning of our summer season has begun. We are in the full swing of staff training now. My plate is full and overflowing with last minute to do lists, errands and editing. It’s “GO” time!

Unfortunately, to my tiny tots, this is just another day. To them, staff training or no staff training, it’s just another walk through the woods, another ride in the car or another meal at camp.

Last night while I was putting my girls to bed, I was reminded of my responsibility… to fill their cups to overflowing. It is a BIG job that requires a lot of planning as well as on the job training, but God has called me to mother! Cultivating a healthy relationship with my children is their foundation for the gospel.

So, I prepare to fill cups.

First, I pour myself out to Christ early in the morning. If my cup overflows with me (my sin, my insecurities, my selfishness, my vanity), how can I pour into them the fresh and strengthening love of Christ? I can’t. Emptying myself is the first way to serve my family.

Next, I spend time focusing on Christ and quickly I am filled with fresh perspective, focus and joy! I ask him to give me the patience, joy, kindness, gentleness, creativity, humor… anything that would be useful in filling their cups to overflowing with the love of Jesus.


Then, when they wake, I greet them with a river of enthusiasm, joy and energy. When I notice my cup getting low through out the day, I pray. When I notice bitterness pouring out, I pray. When I see them fuss with one another, I tip my cup a bit more. My goal is to see their cups overflowing with joy! I realized that my husband and I are the ones they look to (right now) to feel important, accepted and secure.

I am challenged again tonight while writing this post.

4 thoughts on “Filling Cups

  1. What an encouraging blog for an almost new mommy! Perfect perspective for me to begin with for our little boy… any day now. šŸ™‚

  2. Thank you for posting this. I’m a stay at mommy and wife and there are days that my cup is not full. You have really given me encouragement. Especially for those tough days!

Leave a Reply

