The Great Commission

In a series about the Great Commission, of course we need to begin with the command given in Matthew 28 to go and make disciples:

18 And Jesus came and said to them, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. 19 Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, 20 teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age.”

Ok, I get it. …But, this is not as easy as it reads. It is nearly impossible to share the full Gospel story to a cashier who is scanning in your produce while you tend to your 3 small children and fumble around in your purse for the store discount card. It’s just not practical.

online photo

online photo

But, this whole series is about Motherhood and The Great Commission. So, I have to ask myself: am I putting myself in positions where it is practical to share the Gospel by rubbing elbows with non-believers in the community? Or have I started using this “season of life” as a convenient excuse for me to stop pursuing people to share with?

{Pause – This was deeply convicting for me to realize, write and confess to the world.}

I confess: I am guilty of saturating myself with Biblical-community and neglecting the call to “make disciples.” I am fully connected in a healthy, Christ-centered community (which I love and do not take for granted for a second). And many of us are growing in desire to “make disciples” through spending time with people who do not know Christ! And that is how it should be. If we are being made like Christ, then our desire for people to know him will increase!

God does tell us to obey his word. So I ask myself, am I going to make excuses, or am I making choices to obey? Obedience to this command may mean changing my schedule, priorities or routine to position myself near people who need Jesus. There are easy ways to engage my community like enrolling my kids in a dance class or sports teams, even taking a cake decorating class by myself once a week in order to meet people who do not know Jesus.

Right now, you may be super annoyed or mildly uncomfortable after reading this. I would like to point out that while motherhood is a blessed responsibility, sharing Jesus with others is fundamental to obeying Jesus. So, new mamas, enjoy those baby moments and don’t feel guilty that you are unable to go on “visitation” with your church on Tuesday nights… but pray that God gives you opportunity to meet unbelievers where you are.

Writing about motherhood and The Great Commission has been super convicting. I am eager to pour out these discoveries to hold me accountable to be more obedient to Christ. If I am trying to teach my children that Jesus loves people, that he has come to rescue us, then shouldn’t they be seeing me love as Jesus loves? Shouldn’t they expect to hear me talk about Jesus with other moms or see me pray with people in the community? I am the example for my own children – and as Paul implies, they will follow me as I follow Christ.

MAGCbanner

Leave a Reply

