More Projects to Share: Whitewater Sign

Walk Thru The WoodsMy children and I are privileged to walk a nice path to camp whenever we like. It is a fun little hike for my little troop and sometimes we make our hike to lunch in the metal building a bit more adventurous! We hike through the paintball field or take winding trails through the old archery course. But personally, my favorite place to explore is an area of camp we affectionately call, The Burn Pile.
BurnPileAtCamp
The Burn Pile, is basically exactly what it sounds like. It is a giant pile of things that can “go out in a blaze of glory!” Collected here are scraps from old building projects, broken desk parts, rotted signs and basically anything camp has no need of that can be burned. The great thing is that it takes a long time for the “great burn” to make it on the work priority list, so every once in a while I find a diamond in the rough!

Sketch of Artwork

Sketch of Artwork

I found this last fall and just got around to painting it.

DSC_0178 2

I chose to make it look as if it is part of a sign that fell down somewhere near a river company. Since 2001 my husband I have served at SWO and whitewater rafting has been a big part of that. The Lord continues to use whitewater training and rafting to extend the gospel to people who have never heard and this ‘sign’ helps to remind our family to pray for these opportunities.

I am looking for a few old wooden river paddles to go with my ideas for hanging the sign… I will post photos when I get it all hung.

2 thoughts on “More Projects to Share: Whitewater Sign

  1. Pingback: Whitewater Sign Finds A Home! |

Leave a Reply

