Extending Comfort

I wrote this earlier in the week… blanket
Today, my 4 year old sleeps hard after battling the stomach bug all day. She has done well aiming for the big bucket on the floor beside her. Our couch is covered with towels and blankets. I think I have ran like 4 loads of laundry all the way through, making sure she has her favorite blanket for the majority of her sick day. It’s sad when she is like this, puny and weak.
It is hard to watch her ache and bend in pain.
There are only a few things I can do, but I can’t take away this sickness.
I can’t make her well.

couchandbucket

sippycup and sick

All I can do is offer her comfort.
I clean.
I comfort.
I clean.
I comfort.
This is my most important job today!

Sitting in the same room as she falls asleep snoring so that I’m near if she spews again, this is comfort.
Filling up her sippy cup with a bit more Gatorade than water and renting a red box movie at her request is comfort.

I rub her back and change her shirts. I pull her hair up out of her face and bring her fresh warm blankets from the dryer.
I’m her mama… It is my joyful, duty to comfort her as much as I can when she needs me.

I hate that she is sick, but I love that I am the one who gets to take care of her!
It’s my job.
May I always do it joyfully!

2 Corinthians 13:11
Finally, brothers, rejoice. Aim for restoration, comfort one another, agree with one another, live in peace; and the God of love and peace will be with you.

Leave a Reply

