Homeschool Morning Routine (Part 1)

Morning Routine Part 1:
(This is what I try to attain at the beginning of the school day)

We always begin with prayer and the pledge of allegiance.

pledge

Next we move on to our Move and Groove section where I play a few songs and let the kido’s work out their wiggles before our Bible Time. I have many playlists on Youtube and we just work through the play list for about 7 or 8 min.

Jed Sings

After Move and Groove, we jump right into our Bible memorization or Bible story or Character building exercises for the week. Right now I am working on a curriculum on being SELF-LESS for our kids.

Next we focus on learning a skill or read 2 books. This week we are working on learning the names of our coins! We include Jed (2 years) if he wants to participate. He likes doing what the girls do.  FYI: Jed does not always participate in skill time. Sometimes he just plays and does his own thing.

Money in Bin

After our skill time or reading, we move over to our calendar and I do a small calendar group time with the younger two. Alani is old enough to find the day of the week on her own calendar. She writes out 3 things she is thankful for and practices spelling it out on her own (priceless… I will never ditch this calendar).

calendar

Following the singing, dancing, praying and reviewing, we take a break! I set my trusty kitchen timer to 15 min. I use this time to switch over the laundry, use the bathroom, pull out the math and reading materials and tie up any loose ends. I may also grab a fresh hot drink, because I love them soooo much!

This is basically Part 1 our school day. If we get thru this part of our school day with no breakdowns, bathroom mishaps or unexpected visitors, everything I listed above happens. Some days I may skip the singing or calendar all together just to stay on message. My goal is that we STAY motivated for a good 30 – 40 minutes before the 15 minute break.

There are tons of interesting things you can do during this time, you just have to get creative. My kids love to sing, so I created our morning routine to allow for singing time. Other kids may enjoy a fun-fact of the day or a game instead of singing. The best thing about homeschool is that you know your kids, what they like and what they need to grow in. Make your morning routine centered around positive things they ENJOY and look forward to, and “school time” will be great fun for everyone!

2 thoughts on “Homeschool Morning Routine (Part 1)

  1. Pingback: The Calendar |

  2. I love this!! So simple and yet so effective!! I will be trying this !! Thank you for such a wonderful post and a beautiful blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

