DIY: T Shirt Rug

tshirtrug_6
We have a large amount of old t shirts in my closet.  Every summer we try to sort thru the old SWO shirts that we love and make room for the newest round of SWO T’s.  I was happy when I found this tutorial on a DIY T Shirt rug because I could do a craft with Alani with supplies I already had on hand!
Old Tshirts – check
tshirtrug_1

Hula Hoop – check
tshirtrug_2
Sissors that will cut said T Shirts – went thru 3 pair, but yes found a pair that would work – check
5 year old who likes being an artist – check, check
tshirtrug_3

I cut the shirt into useable strips and then followed the directions here on this tutorial…

Changes and/or suggestions from trying this at home:  

  1. I cut enough strips to make 2 rugs actually. You do not need more than 3 or 4 shirts for a small rug.
  2. I used a smaller hula hoop (because my kids are small and we have not entered into the big size hula hoops quite yet), so the final rug is just big enough to put by their bed for them to step on when they get out of bed in the morning.
  3. I pulled the “spokes” too tight when I finished knotting the ends and it made the first rug “bow” or “pucker” in the middle. On the second, I did not pull anything tight and it laid flat better.

 

tshirtrug_5
tshirtrug_4

Other than cutting the T shirts up, this took about an hour to weave… I started it and helped with keeping the pattern, but for the most part she did it herself. My 6 year old loved this idea and worked hard on her little rug. I am so proud of her!

__________________________________________
Today we are also trying to get the word out about our ADOPT AN ENVELOPE fund raiser for our adoption from Haiti! Share the link and help us get the word out!

Leave a Reply

